6 Questions I Ask Myself When I Don’t Know What I Should Do With My Life

I have a lot of questions about what the future will bring and what could happen in my life as I continue my journey into adulthood. I know they won’t be answered immediately, however, I feel the need to ask them anyway, so that some light may be shed on my next move when the year ends and what I can do now to prepare myself as I move into the next phase of my life.

Question 1: Where did I think I would be by now?

I’m nearing twenty-one and I had a lot ideas about what life might have been like when I reached this stage of my life but nothing I ever imagined came true. For example, I thought I’d have interned somewhere or had a part-time job while I studied. Those things didn’t happen and I feel as though it was a failure on my part for not having ‘tried hard enough’ but at the same time I accept and understand that maybe chance and opportunity were not on my side.

Question 2: Where am I right now?

I’m in my last year of my Bachelor’s degree, which I’m about to complete at the end of the coming semester, and on top of that, I’m turning twenty-one soon.Twenty-one doesn’t seem like such a big number but when I count the days since I turned eighteen and dreamed about attending university and finding a career and making a name for myself, I can see how far time has moved and how much I haven’t. In some ways I feel as though I have chosen to remain stagnant. As if I didn’t do enough to try and get to where I wanted to be.

Question 3: What does a retrospective of my life look like?

When I look back on the years and examine how I spent them, I feel as though that’s not entirely true. When I ask myself: Did I work hard? Did I try? A small voice in the back of my mind says, ‘Yes.’ There are things that I have done to try and move myself along. There are places I have been and people that I have met that remind me I have moved with the time that has passed.

Question 4: What have I learned?

There are a number of experiences, which I have, that make me who I am and I can use those experiences in the future to make myself a better person, and to remind me that I have lived and am alive. The person that I am today is not going to be the same me as tomorrow.

Question 5: Where to now?

From here, I’d like to continue to move forward. I want to build strong relationships with people. I want to be more confident in myself. I want to try new things and I want to do what I can to find a fulfilling career.

Question 6: How do I go about doing that?

  • I will try and meet new people
  • I won’t be afraid of putting myself out there
  • I will try out different things and opportunities
  • I won’t be afraid of making mistakes
  • I will continue to nourish my relationships with my friends and family
  • I won’t be afraid to be myself
Leave a Reply

